IRELAND · COUNTY ANTRIM · SINGLE MALT REVIEW
Bushmills 16 Year Old
Three Woods on the Causeway Coast.
A triple-distilled Northern Irish single malt — sixteen years in bourbon and Oloroso casks, finished in port pipes — from the oldest licensed distillery on the island.
Two sixteen-year single malts — one raised in ex-bourbon casks, one in Oloroso sherry butts — married and rested around nine months in ruby port pipes at the Old Bushmills Distillery in County Antrim. Triple-distilled, 40%, and unmistakably malt: orchard fruit, toasted nuts and port-stained depth.
Buy Online FROM $139 Read the full review →
Official site · bushmills.com
THE DECISION
A polished three-wood malt for patient sipping.
Bushmills 16 trades pot-still heft for orchard fruit, honeyed malt, and a soft port-finish finish. It is elegant rather than forceful.
Best for drinkers who want mature Irish single malt, not cask-strength drama.
OUR SCORE
88/100
BUY FROM
$139
TYPICAL SHELF $139-170 | SRP $149.99 | JULY 2026
I Origin
BUSHMILLS 16 — STORY & ORIGIN
Four centuries on the Causeway Coast.
Bushmills traces its licence to distil to 1608, granted for the surrounding County Antrim district — the basis of its 'oldest licensed distillery' claim — though the Old Bushmills company itself dates to 1784. Either way, malt whiskey has been made beside the River Bush longer than almost anywhere on earth.
Unlike the pot-still houses of the south, Bushmills makes triple-distilled single malt from 100% malted barley. The 16 marries two parallel sixteen-year maturations — ex-bourbon and Oloroso sherry — then rests the vatting around nine months in ruby port pipes.
It's the first bottle from outside Midleton's orbit in our Irish chapter — a reminder that Irish whiskey is two traditions, not one: Northern single malt and southern single pot still.

HOW IT'S MADE — IN FIVE STEPS
100% MALTED BARLEY
A true single malt — no unmalted grain.
TRIPLE DISTILLED
Copper pot stills beside the River Bush, Antrim.
THREE CASK TYPES
Bourbon casks + Oloroso sherry butts, in parallel.
MATURED 16 YEARS
Sixteen years minimum, then married.
PORT-PIPE FINISH
About nine months in ruby port pipes · 40%.



BUSHMILLS 16 SPECS · AT A GLANCE
Everything, on one label.
Verified by our editors
| COUNTRY | Northern Ireland (Co. Antrim) |
|---|---|
| DISTILLERY | Old Bushmills Distillery |
| WHISKEY | Single Malt Irish Whiskey |
| NAME | Bushmills 16 |
| MASH BILL | 100% malted barley |
| AGE | 16 years (minimum) |
|---|---|
| ABV | 40% · 80 proof |
| CASK | Bourbon + Oloroso · port-pipe finish |
| FILTRATION | Not stated · assume chill-filtered |
| COLOR | Not stated |
| RELEASE | Core range · permanent |
II On the Palate
BUSHMILLS 16 TASTING NOTES — NOSE · PALATE · FINISH
Three woods, one quiet malt.
Honeyed malt, ripe plum and black cherry on the nose; a juicy palate of red berries in syrup, toasted nuts and port-pipe milk chocolate; a medium, gently oaky finish of raisin, clove and cinnamon. Elegant rather than emphatic — 40% keeps it soft.
I · NOSE 8.9
Honey, plum & cherry
Honey and ripe orchard fruit — plum, black cherry, a strawberry-jam sweetness from the port pipes — over malted barley, toasted nuts and soft leather.
HONEY · DARK FRUIT · TOASTED NUTS
II · PALATE 9.0
Juicy, nutty, port-stained
Juicy peach and red berries in syrup meet hazelnut and milk chocolate; Oloroso raisin and vanilla underneath, with clove and cinnamon building gently.
RED BERRIES · MILK CHOCOLATE · RAISIN
III · FINISH 8.8
Medium, spiced, oaky
Dried fruit and baking spice dry slowly through toasted oak; the port sweetness fades first, leaving malt, walnut and soft tannin.
MEDIUM · BAKING SPICE · OAK
EDITORIAL TRUST
Why this score is defensible.
The grade reflects blind-style tasting notes, current US pricing, range context, and whether the bottle earns its place beside nearby Irish alternatives.
III Is It For You?
WHO IS BUSHMILLS 16 FOR?
Who it's for — and who it isn't.
AN HONEST READ
FOR YOU — You'll love it if…
You want Ireland's other tradition — Northern single malt
You love port and sherry influence at a gentle strength
You want an elegant after-dinner malt, not a bruiser
You value age-per-dollar — sixteen stated years near $139
You drink Scotch single malts and want the Irish angle
You want triple-distilled polish with real cask depth
NOT FOR YOU — Look elsewhere if…
You want proof and texture — 40% reads soft (get Blue Spot 7)
You want pot-still spice and muscle (Redbreast 12 costs less)
You need non-chill-filtered honesty — this is standard presentation
You dislike port-wine sweetness over your malt
You're budget-first — Bushmills 10 covers the house style for ~$45
You want smoke or peat — there's none here
IV How to Drink It
HOW TO DRINK BUSHMILLS 16
“Bushmills 16, neat — after dinner.”
At 40% it needs no taming — pour it neat and let the glass warm in your hand until the port fruit rises. Skip water: there's little proof to cut, and ice collapses an already gentle malt. A tulip glass focuses the chocolate and dark fruit.
NEAT, IN A TULIP
A narrow glass concentrates plum, cherry and chocolate.
GIVE IT TEN MINUTES
The port pipes wake up as the whiskey warms.
SKIP WATER & ICE
At 40% there's nothing to tame — dilution thins it.
THE SERVE
FIG. 02 — THE SERVE, NEAT
Neat, in a tulip glass. Nothing added.
BUYING COMPARISON
Where it sits on the Irish shelf.
88 / 100
| BOTTLE | SCORE | PRICE | ROLE |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bushmills 16 | 88 | $139 | Elegant malt pour |
| Redbreast 12 | 91 | $70 | Pot-still benchmark |
| Green Spot | 90 | $60 | Fresh pot-still value |
| Teeling Small Batch | 85 | $35 | Budget Dublin blend |
| Midleton Very Rare | 93 | $250+ | Luxury Irish blend |
V Where to Find It
Where to buy Bushmills 16 — or try a pour first.
PRICES CHECKED · JULY 2026
FlaviarBEST PRICE
SHIPS MOST STATES · VERIFIED JULY 2026
ReserveBarPREFERRED RETAILER
SHIPS WHERE LEGAL · ADDRESS-GATED PRICE
Liquor Cave
ONLINE RETAILER · VERIFIED JULY 2026
Bushmills 16 is a permanent core release with steady US distribution — Flaviar listed it at $138.99 in July 2026, with independents running $145–$170 against a $149.99 SRP. Anything under $140 is a good buy. We may earn a commission on retail-partner links.
VI Ask Forge
ASK FORGE · YOUR WHISKEY GUIDE
Not sure it's your pour?
Forge is your whiskey guide. Tell him what you usually drink — he'll say whether Bushmills' port-finished, triple-distilled sixteen-year malt is your pour, or point you to a better fit.
Compares it to bottles you already love
Finds a similar profile at a lower price
Learns your taste as you chat
Forge
WHISKEY SPECIALIST · AI
Is Bushmills 16 too gentle at 40%?
Gentle, yes — thin, no. Sixteen years and three casks give it real depth: plum, hazelnut, port-pipe chocolate. If you want more grip at a similar price, Redbreast 15 at 46% is the muscular cousin; if elegance after dinner is the brief, this is the better pour. Skip the ice either way.
Ask Forge about Bushmills 16…
VERDICT · BUSHMILLS 16 REVIEW
“The quiet triumph of the North.”
Sixteen years in bourbon and Oloroso wood, then nine months in port pipes, make Ireland's most elegant widely available single malt — honeyed, nutty, quietly chocolate-rich. It whispers where the pot stills project, and at 40% that's both the point and the flaw. Near $139 it's an easy yes.
TRIPLE-WOOD SINGLE MALTPORT-STAINEDELEGANT, NOT LOUD
Buy Online FROM $139 Our score — 88 / 100
COMMUNITY PULSE
What drinkers tend to agree on.
Best for drinkers who want mature Irish single malt, not cask-strength drama.
CONSENSUS
Bushmills 16 Year Old is strongest when judged against its actual shelf price.
WATCHOUT
Availability and markup can move the value score faster than the liquid score.
BEST USE
Pour neat first; add water only if proof or oak starts to dominate.
KEEP EXPLORING · IRISH WHISKEY
Continue the tour.
BUSHMILLS 16 · FAQ
Questions, answered.
Six things drinkers most often ask us about Bushmills 16 at the bar.
ANSWERED BY NIALL CONNOLLY · THE ATLANTIC SEAT
i. Is Bushmills 16 worth it?
For sixteen stated years of triple-cask single malt, yes — near $139 it's one of the better age-per-dollar buys in Irish whiskey. If you want higher proof or natural presentation for the money, Redbreast 15 at 46% makes the stronger case.
ii. Bushmills 16 vs Redbreast 15 — which should I get?
Different traditions: Bushmills is a triple-distilled Northern single malt, elegant and port-accented at 40%; Redbreast is a Cork single pot still, oilier and spicier at 46%. Bushmills for after-dinner polish; Redbreast for muscle and texture.
iii. What do the port pipes add?
Around nine months in ruby port pipes after the main maturation. The port layers red-berry sweetness and a milk-chocolate note over the bourbon and Oloroso base — a finishing accent, not the backbone.
iv. Is Bushmills 16 a single malt or a blend?
A single malt: 100% malted barley, triple-distilled at one distillery — Old Bushmills in County Antrim. That puts it closer in style to Scotch single malt than to the pot-still whiskeys of the south.
v. Why is it only 40%?
Core-range positioning — the 16 is bottled at the house's standard strength for wide distribution. Reviewers consistently wish it were 46% and non-chill-filtered; the depth is there, just gently delivered.
vi. Is Bushmills 16 chill-filtered or coloured?
Neither is declared. At 40% you should assume standard chill-filtration, and colour isn't stated — treat both as unconfirmed rather than natural presentation.